PLAN YOUR VISIT
Huis Bergh Castle is situated in the Netherlands near the German border. Plan your visit to the castle and enjoy the possibilities we offer to the fullest. A visit to the town of ‘s-Heerenberg is a breathtaking experience.
Huis Bergh Castle has a wealth of stories to tell about its art, its history and its gardens. A lot has happened in the 800 years of Huis Bergh Castle’s existence, so there’s plenty to talk about. You can see Huis Bergh Castle’s rich history, incredible art collection and carefully restored gardens in the castle.
Address: Hof van Bergh 8, 7041 AC ‘s-Heerenberg
P.O. Box: Postbus 155, 7040 AD ‘s-Heerenberg
How to get to Bergh Castle
From Holland: Motorway A 12 Arnhem-Oberhausen, exit 3 direction ‘s-Heerenberg and then follow signs for ‘s-Heerenberg. In ‘s-Heerenberg follow signs for Huis Bergh.
Via Germany: Motorway A 3 Oberhausen-Arnhem, exit 3 direction Emmerich and then follow signs for ‘s-Heerenberg. In ‘s-Heerenberg follow signs for Huis Bergh.
The castle has good public transport connections. Take the bus 24 to ‘s-Heerenberg from railway station Doetinchem or the bus 91 to ‘s-Heerenberg from railway station Emmerich.
For more information about public transport,
Huis Bergh Castle has a wealth of stories to tell about its art, its history and its gardens. A lot has happened in the 800 years of Huis Bergh Castle’s existence, so there’s plenty to talk about. Come and relive history!
Huis Bergh Castle offers disabled access.
There are two disabled parking spaces at the bottom of the castle drive. There is a disabled toilet in the Coach House (opposite the castle) and a wheelchair lift by the steps to enable access to the ground floor of the castle. This gives access to the hall, the throne room, the Italian room, two temporary exhibition halls and the wedding hall. NB: the first floor and the tower can only be accessed via the stairs.
Bicycle Charge Point
Huis Bergh Castle’s inner ward has a bicycle charge point for electric bikes. Stop by Huis Bergh Castle as part of your cycling tour and charge your bike while enjoying an afternoon of culture.
Bus parking area
Huis Bergh Castle is also easily accessible to coaches and buses. There is a bus parking area on the Hofstraat, more or less directly across from the Huis Bergh Castle drive.
Huis Bergh Medieval Castle
A breathtaking experience
Medieval Bergh castle is surrounded by a moat and half of it is enclosed by an embankment. Its building history goes back as far as the 13th century.
Little is known about the earliest history of Bergh Castle. It is believed that around 1100 AD a wooden tower was raised on a little island in a swamp. Around 1200 AD this wooden tower, or donjon, came to be replaced by a round tower. The remains of this tuff tower can still be seen in the wall left to the present main entrance door to the great hall. In subsequent years the main castle building was enlarged upon.
At the onset of the Eighty Years’ War Bergh Castle was seriously damaged.
In 1735 the main castle building was completely destroyed by fire.
In 1939 the castle was once again struck by fire. Van Heek, who had acquired the castle in 1912, immediately took on restoring the castle.
Inhabitants and owners
Bergh Castle is the ancestral home of the Bergh lords and later counts. One of the best known Bergh counts was Willem van den Bergh, who in 1556 married Maria van Nassau, the sister of William of Orange. The year 1712 marked the end of the Van den Bergh line. Via the female line, the castle and its possessions passed into the hands of the South German aristocratic family Von Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen.
The Hohenzollerns were never really interested in their Dutch possessions. They sold the majority of the Bergh estate grounds. The castle was eventually rescued when in 1912 Jan Herman van Heek bought it, its rights and its possessions from Prince Wilhelm.
Jan Herman van Heek, an industrialist from Enschede, was deeply fascinated by the Middle Ages. This fascination inspired him both in the way in which he restored the castle and in the art he collected.
In 1946 Van Heek transferred his ownership to the Bergh Castle Foundation, aiming to preserve castle, art collection and surrounding woodlands for posterity.
Nature and culture
Bergh castle is located on the German border in a beautiful area that is ideally suited to hiking and cycling. In nearby Zeddam Bergh Castle’s towermill can be visited. It is the oldest working Dutch windmill.
Art and history
The permanent collection of Bergh Castle includes early Italian painting, Northern European painting, historic portraits, medieval manuscripts, coins and sculptures. The collection was built between 1912 and 1957 by the then owner of the castle Jan Herman van Heek. The beautifully ornate manuscripts and incunables are of great national and international importance.
Huis Bergh was inhabited from the 12th century to the 20th century. The various gentlemen and diggers van den Bergh played an important role in the history of the area and some even wrote history on a national level. In the 1980s an important stamp was printed on the Berghse history by Willem IV Count Van den Bergh.
The Antoniuszaal (Anthony Room) houses a substantial part of the collection. It is a very calming and inspiring room. A 15th century rood screen leads to the central part of the room with medieval sculptures, ivories, late medieval paintings and of course the manuscript collection. Each year Bergh Castle organizes a temporary exhibition.
Building history of the castle
Unfortunately, nothing about the earliest history is known. Probably around 1100 on an islet in a swamp a rugged hill was raised on which a wooden living tower was set. Later, possibly around 1200, this wooden living tower is replaced by a round tufstenen tower. Of these, remains can be seen in a wall in the main castle.
Probably around 1300 the first floor of the castle was built because of the need for comfort. The tufstein tower was broken down for this. By that time, the main castle was also enlarged and a new ring wall was built.
Again, the great tower was built. This came to the place where until then the entrance to the main castle was. This passage is still visible in the wall of the tower. Also in the big tower is still a bridge cellar. These changes to the castle have been working for decades.
Originally, the frontier consisted exclusively of high defenses and a reflection. This turn was flanked by three towers. Over time, a number of buildings were placed against the show, intended for various purposes linked to the castle, such as: stables, a forge shop, a brewery and grain farms.
Eighty Years' War
In the eighties War Huis Bergh was severely destroyed. Around 1600, the castle was restored. Then it also got the reputation that it still has. The main building of the castle was raised with one floor. On the north-east side, the castle was expanded, causing the regular eight-sided shape to be lost.
At the front door, the current Rentmeestershuis is astonishing. During that time there were more buildings in the forecourt than today. Between 1680 and 1700 the castle was decorated with the frameworks of access to the main castle and the entrance of the grand hall.
In 1735 the castle's main castle completely burned. The recovery was taken immediately. There was a circular roof and the windows were replaced by sliding windows for more light output. The castle was not inhabited after the fire but used for multiple purposes. For example, a seminar was held in the castle between 1798 and 1840.
Documents show that there were various activities in the frontier in 1843. There was a brewery, a car brake, and a horse stable. A description of 1865 states that there was a large barn and fallen stables below which a house was designed for the steward.
In 1912, Jan Herman van Heek bought the castle of the frost of Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen. The castle was in a desolate state and was gradually restored by Van Heek. In 1939 there was a fire in the main castle, which burned out completely. The recovery was immediately taken by Van Heek. He restored the windows of the castle by inserting the old cross windows. Also a small piece of the former ring wall was rebuilt. In 1946 he transferred his ownership to the Bergh Foundation.